Review of Wilde in Love by Eloisa James

Review of Wilde in Love by Eloisa James

Review of Wilde in Love by Eloisa JamesWilde in Love five-stars
by Eloisa James
ISBN: 9780062389480
Published by HarperCollins on October 31st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency, General
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon//Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

One of Cosmopolitan's Best Books of 2017!

Lord Alaric Wilde, son of the Duke of Lindow, is the most celebrated man in England, revered for his dangerous adventures and rakish good looks. Arriving home from years abroad, he has no idea of his own celebrity until his boat is met by mobs of screaming ladies. Alaric escapes to his father’s castle, but just as he grasps that he’s not only famous but notorious, he encounters the very private, very witty, Miss Willa Ffynche.

 

Willa presents the façade of a serene young lady to the world. Her love of books and bawdy jokes is purely for the delight of her intimate friends. She wants nothing to do with a man whose private life is splashed over every newspaper.

 

Alaric has never met a woman he wanted for his own . . . until he meets Willa. He’s never lost a battle.

 

But a spirited woman like Willa isn’t going to make it easy. . . .

 

The first book in Eloisa James’s dazzling new series set in the Georgian period glows with her trademark wit and sexy charm—and introduces a large, eccentric family. Readers will love the Wildes of Lindow Castle!

Wilde in Love Review

Wilde in Love is the first book in The Wildes of Lindow Castle series by New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James. After exploring and adventuring abroad, Lord Alaric Wilde returns home to England to discover that he has become quite the celebrity. The novels he penned about his journey managed to draw the attention of a vast majority of the female populace. Unfortunately, the one woman to draw his undivided and appreciative attention does not look upon him kindly. On the contrary, Willa Ffynche has little interest in Lord Alaric Wilde or his novels. She makes this abundantly clear frequently throughout the story, which only manages to deepen Alaric’s interest in her.

The story is set in the late 18th century on Alaric’s family’s country estate known as Lindow Castle, which sits close to a bog that claimed the life of his older brother. Willa, along with her close friend Lavinia, attend a house party on the estate for about a fortnight. This offers ample opportunity for both Alaric and Willa to exchange inappropriate puns, witty remarks, and to discover that there is a great deal of chemistry to be acknowledged between them.

I particularly enjoyed the descriptions of 18th century fashion and the comical dialogue between the numerous different house guests. Willa’s friend Lavinia added a lot of humor to the story, especially with her ongoing feud with Alaric’s close friend Parth. I found myself chuckling a few different times at the antics of these two (I’m keeping my fingers crossed that their dislike of one another will change into something a bit more pleasant in a later novel).

The addition of the deranged character Prudence, a missionary’s daughter, added a great deal of drama and suspense to the story. The strained relationship between Alaric’s brother North and his fiancé also added a bit of intrigue. With such an interesting mix of characters, a perfect setting, an ominous bog, humor, and strong chemistry between Alaric and Willa, I would say that Wilde in Love is a new favorite historical romance of mine. I cannot wait to see what stories unfold within the Wilde family and I’m eagerly awaiting the next installment.

And thanks to Willa Ffynche…I now want a pet skunk named Sweetpea. Lovely.

 

Be sure to check out my other reviews here!

 

Check out “Wilde in Love” on Amazon below!

five-stars
Review of “Uninvited” by Sophie Jordan

Review of “Uninvited” by Sophie Jordan

Review of “Uninvited” by Sophie JordanUninvited four-stars
by Sophie Jordan
ISBN: 9780062233646
Published by HarperCollins on January 27th 2015
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, General, Romance, Action & Adventure
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon//Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school, avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded into her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

Review of Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Review by: April Hughes

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

 

Review of Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited is the first novel in the Uninvited series by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan. The story follows Davy, a musical prodigy from a wealthy and respected family. Her life starts off perfect in the novel- the perfect boyfriend, perfect family, perfect school, and perfect friends. Davy herself is beyond reproach. Unfortunately, her ideal life comes crumbling down around her when she is discovered to be genetically flawed.

This story takes place in the not-so-distant future when the “kill” gene is discovered. This gene is found in almost all people with homicidal tendencies. As crime rates climb to staggering numbers, Davy finds herself the victim of judgmental, ignorant, and presumptuous individuals. Everyone diagnosed with the kill gene is treated like lesser beings. I would say the only “positive” outcome of this discovered gene is that Davy meets Sean- another kill gene carrier. Sean basically shows her that just because you’re labeled a certain way by society does not mean you’re necessarily what they claim you are.

I enjoyed the characters- I loved seeing the different dynamic between those who are carriers and those who are considered “normal”. I enjoyed the different locations utilized by the author- the public school with its “cage”, Mount Haven, and the cabin in the woods. Each location brought a new element of intensity and surprise.

The story was fast-paced, action-filled, suspenseful, and provided enough chemistry between Davy and Sean to satisfy the romantic in me. Uninvited ended perfectly! I cannot wait to see how they get themselves out of the situation they are currently in. When the whole world thinks you’re dangerous and wants you eliminated and there’s nowhere truly safe to go- what do you do?

Pick up your copy today on Amazon!

I can’t wait to find out what happens in the sequel titled “Unleashed”.

 

See my other book reviews here~

four-stars

Would you like to…?

Use the Divi Builder…

to design your pop-up!

Donec rutrum congue leo eget malesuada. Curabitur non nulla sit amet nisl tempus convallis quis ac lectus. Cras ultricies ligula sed magna dictum porta. Curabitur aliquet quam id dui posuere blandit. Proin eget tortor risus.

Pin It on Pinterest